The following states require continuing education: Alabama, Delaware, Kansas, Louisiana, New Hampshire, Minnesota, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, and Texas.
Continuing Education Requirement: 30 HRS PDH per biennium
Geologist certification in Alaska is based solely upon the registration requirements of the American Institute of Professional Geologists. Certifications have no expiration date and require no renewal fees.
Arizona (Practice) - 602-364-4930
AZ Board of Technical Registration
Continuing Education Requirements: None - under consideration to add requirement
Delaware (Practice) - (302) 739-4522
DE State Board of Registration of Geologists
Continuing Education Requirements: 12-24 hours biannually
Florida (Practice) - (850) 487-7990
FL Board of Professional Geologists
Illinois (Practice) - (217) 785-0800
IL Dept. of Professional Regulation
Continuing Education Requirements: 30 hrs / 2 year renewal
Louisiana (Practice) - (225) 505-3766
Louisiana Board of Professional Geoscientists
Fifteen (15) hours of continuing education are required for the annual renewal
of a P.G. license, with one of those hours in the area of Professional Ethics.
Continuing Education Requirements: 24 hrs biannually
The Minnesota Board of Architecture, Engineering, Land Surveying, Landscape Architecture, Geoscience, and Interior Design statute has changes that are effective August 1, 2014.
One of the changes concerns professional development hours and the Board has received many questions regarding the new ethics requirement. In order to renew in 2016, licensees and certificate holders must report a minimum of two professional development hours of professional ethics. The total number of professional development hours required (24) has not changed. The ethics hours must have been earned during the biennium to which they are applied and shall not be used toward carryover. This means that two professional ethics hours are required for the 2016 renewal.
For details on the statute changes go to: http://www.aelslagid.state.mn.us
New Hampshire (Practice) - (603) 271-2219
NH Joint Board of Licensure and Certification
Continuing Education Requirements: 24 hrs biannually
New Jersey (Practice) - (609) 292-8761
(only groundwater consultant- UST work)
Bureau of Underground Storage Tanks
The law that establishes the profession of geology in New York State was signed by Governor Cuomo in November 2014. This law is identified as Chapter 475 of 2014. As a requirement to signing that legislation, the Governor noted that three specific Chapter Amendments were needed to 1) correct a typographical error, 2) allow flexibility in administrating future exams, and 3) to appoint geologists to the joint Professional Board for Engineering, Land Surveying, and Geology, in order to facilitate the regulation-writing phase in a timely manner. Those Chapter Amendments that were requested by the Governor passed both legislative houses in early March, and then were forwarded to Governor Cuomo’s office where he signed the amendments on March 16, 2015. The amendment legislation was codified into law as Chapter 9 of the Laws of 2015.
To appoint representative geologists on the Licensing Board, the State Education Department, Office of the Professions reviewed the applications of several geologists during January and February. Three people were referred to the NYS Board of Regents and were approved at their March 2015 meeting. The approval by the Regents and the Governor’s signature on the Chapter Amendments were the final hurdles to geologists being added to the Licensing Board. We are pleased to announce that David A. Franzi, Ph.D., William J. Kelly, Ph.D., and Jean Neubeck, CPG-11438, were confirmed by the Regents on March 17, 2015. Now that three geologist representatives have been added to the joint Board, a committee will be formed to prepare the regulations for the State Education Department.
The NYS State Education Department portal to download applications, review the (pending) regulations, once those are established, and other information for the Profession of Geology can be accessed at http://www.op.nysed.gov/prof/geo/. As always, you are welcome to contact John at firstname.lastname@example.org with questions regarding the process of the Law’s establishment and implementation.
North Carolina (Practice) - (919) 850-9669
NC Board for Licensing of Geologists
https://www.ncblg.org/ce/ (This requirement was new as of 2017 and calls for 12 PDH hours per year from approved sources.)
Pennsylvania (Practice) - (717) 783-7049
PA State Board of Professional Engineers,
Land Surveyors & Geologists
Continuing Education Requirements: 32 hrs biennium
Tennessee (Title) - (615) 741-3611
TN Dept. of Commerce & Ins. Div. of Reg. Board
Washington (Practice) - (360) 664-1497
WA State of Washington Department of Licensing Geologist Licensing Program
States with Partial Regulation
Connecticut - (860) 424-3700
CT Licensed Environmental Prof. Program
Massachusetts - (617) 556-1091
Board of Registration of Hazardous Waste Site
Michigan - (517) 334-6907
MI Dept. of Environmental Quality
Nevada - (702) 687-3016
NV Dept. of Conserv. and Natural Resources
Title Acts - the state is the entity that qualifies the practitioners, usually through a board. It grants a title, e.g., "Certified," and restricts its use. Only the title is restricted, not the practice.
Practice Acts - states have statutes similar to title acts, but which restrict practice to those qualified by the state.